you're reading...
Dinner

Gnocchi

Whoever has been to Rome and had the pillowy potato dumplings, gnocchi, can’t live without them.  They’re noodles, but not.  They’re savory and definitely filling.  Gnocchi is basically only three ingredients – flour, potatoes, and eggs.  It takes a bit of time to make, but it is easy to freeze and, therefore, a good investment of time on a free weekend.

I used a few different recipes online to create my own.  Below are the recipes I utilized.

Gnocchi I by Anna on allrecipes.com
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/gnocchi-i/detail.aspx

Potato Gnocchi by Michael Chiarello on foodtv.com
www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/michael-chiarello/potato-gnocchi-recipe/index.html

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4 potatoes
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups of flour (I use half all-purpose and half whole wheat, because it makes it healthier)
  • Optional: 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. of black pepper, 1/4 tsp. of salt

1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Peel potatoes, chop them, and add them to the pot.  Cook until tender but still firm, about 15 minutes.

2. Drain, cool, and mash.  I prefer to use a hand mixer, because I’m too lazy to mash and I feel that it works just as well.

3. Measure out the potatoes.  For every cup of mashed potato add one egg and a 1/2 cup of flour (add more flour as needed, but start with only 1/2 cup).
Add the nutmeg, salt, and pepper if you’d like.

4. Knead the dough until it forms a ball.  I heard today on food network that if you don’t really know how to knead, do it for at least 10-15 minutes.  I set a timer.  It’s the only way I will actually do it that long.  Otherwise I just think that I do and really its only five minutes.

Watch this video to learn how to form gnocchi.  There are also pictures in the slideshow above.
www.5min.com/Video/How-to-Shape-Gnocchi-Dough-145343495

5.  To cook: put a handful of gnocchi in a boiling pot of water.  Boil them for 1.5 to 2 minutes, until the gnocchi float.  Take the gnocchi out of the water and transfer them to the sauce.  (Good sauces to use are a butter and garlic sauce or marinara sauce.) Gnocchi are pretty tasteless on their own, but they will soak up the sauce if you let them sit in the sauce for a while before serving.  I usually keep a pot of sauce heated on the stove while I boil the gnocchi.

6.  To freeze: I opted to freeze these gnocchi.  Pasta needs to be flash frozen before placed in bags.  It is the only way the pasta will not form a large clump while freezing.

  • 6a. Lay the gnocchi out on a baking sheet.  Make sure none of the gnocchi are touching each other or they will get stuck together.
  • 6b. Place the baking sheet in the freezer for about 15 minutes.
  • 6c. Then put the gnocchi in a gallon bag and put back in the freezer.  When you want to use the gnocchi, just throw a serving size of gnocchi in a pot of boiling water and cook as earlier directed.
About 20somethingsfoodguide

I grew up in Hawaii, but now live in Denver, CO. I love food, traveling, photography, and everything in between.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

