you're reading...
Dinner

Roasted Turkey, my way

My favorite part of Thanksgiving is the turkey and its fixings.  I love to have cranberry sauce, gravy, stuffing, and turkey all in one bite.  I have developed a way that I like to roast my turkey.  It’s tried and true.  I make turkeys this way every year and they always comes out moist and yummy.  The key to having a moist turkey is not overcooking it.  The second it reaches a temperature between 170 and 180 on the inside of the leg, take it out.  I also never bother the turkey while its cooking.  I don’t baste.  I put it in the oven, set the timer, and hang out with my family a friends for a few hours.  Okay, really I am actually busy making the stuffing and cranberry sauce.  Unfortunately, I was too busy yesterday to take a picture of my gorgeous turkey.  But I might be making a turkey again in a few days.  The meat is outrageously cheap.  It would be blasphemy to make only one turkey this season.  If I do end up making another turkey, I’ll add a photo to this post.

Roast Turkey

Ingredients:

  • Whole Turkey – 15 pounds
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 head garlic
  • 1/4 cup of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Dried Thyme, Sage, Basil, Pepper and Salt to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  2. Clean and trim the turkey.  Make sure to take out the gravy packet and giblets packet.  The cavity of the turkey should be void of any organs or other random turkey parts.  Take off any feathers that may have been missed.  Rinse the turkey and pat it dry.
  3. Mix together the olive oil, herbs, salt and pepper.  Put as much herbs and salt and pepper that you’d like.
  4. Rub the skin of the turkey with the oil mixture.  Then rub it underneath the skin, while separating the skin from the meat underneath.  Do this to the breast part, and tops of the legs.  Separating the skin and putting the oil mixture beneath will create crispy skin.
  5. Cut the lemon in half and squeeze over the turkey.  Stuff the turkey with the two lemon halves.
  6. Cut the top off of the garlic and put inside the turkey
  7. Cover the turkey with foil.
  8. Bake the turkey at 325 degrees for two hours.  Then turn the oven up to 425, take the foil off of the turkey, and cook until the inside of the thigh is between 170 and 180 degrees.  Should take about one hour at 425.
About 20somethingsfoodguide

I grew up in Hawaii, but now live in Denver, CO. I love food, traveling, photography, and everything in between.

Discussion

One thought on “Roasted Turkey, my way

  1. This sounds awesome!!!
    I printed it to put into my collcetion. But I’ll wait until we can do it together.

    Posted by Mom | November 26, 2011, 8:12 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

